9.7 C
Geneva
Friday, May 24, 2024

Malaria vaccine: hope for certain African countries

In response to strong demand for the first malaria vaccine, recommended by the World Health Organization, 12 African countries will be allocated a total of 18 million doses for the period 2023-2025. This deployment is a crucial step in the fight against one of the most deadly diseases in Africa, killing nearly half a million children under the age of 5 and accounting for around 95% of cases of this infectious disease worldwide.

Since the World Health Organization recommended the use of the first malaria vaccine, RTS,S/AS01, for the prevention of Plasmodium falciparum malaria in children living in areas of moderate to high transmission, there has been a huge demand for doses.

High demand
In July 2022, Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance, offered funding to help eligible countries deploy this vaccine (and other malaria vaccines as they become available). Since then, more than 28 countries have expressed interest in obtaining the vaccine. Fourteen applications, submitted during the first two application opportunities (September 2022 and January 2023), have been recommended for approval by Gavi's Independent Review Committee (IRC). Currently, 18 million vaccines are available for the period 2023-2025. This number is insufficient to allow distribution in all the countries recommended by the IRC.

Pilot phases
Since 2019, Ghana, Kenya and Malawi have been administering the malaria vaccine as part of the Malaria Vaccine Implementation Program (MVIP), coordinated by WHO and funded by Gavi, the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, and Unitaid. The RTS,S/AS01 vaccine has been administered to over 1.7 million children in the three countries mentioned above. It has proved safe and effective, leading to both a substantial reduction in severe malaria and a drop in the number of child deaths.

Vaccine allocation framework
In anticipation of the gap between demand and supply, in early 2022 WHO coordinated the development of an allocation framework to transparently allocate a limited quantity of malaria vaccines. The Allocation Framework Implementation Group, made up of technical staff from WHO, UNICEF, the Gavi Secretariat and the African Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Africa CDC), was tasked with recommending the quantities of malaria vaccines to be allocated to countries. The process followed the principles, considerations and indicators defined by the allocation framework, namely: urgent need, maximum health impact, equitable sharing of benefits and assurance of continuation of the immunization program.

Next vaccinations
In addition to Ghana, Kenya and Malawi, the initial allocation of 18 million doses will enable nine other countries (Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Liberia, Niger, Sierra Leone, Uganda) to introduce the vaccine into their routine immunization programs for the first time. This allocation cycle uses vaccine doses available to Gavi through UNICEF. The first doses of vaccine are scheduled to arrive in countries in the last quarter of 2023, and countries are expected to begin administering them in early 2024.

Other vaccines under development
Annual global demand for malaria vaccines is estimated at 40-60 million doses in 2026 alone, rising to 80-100 million doses a year by 2030. In addition to the RTS,S/AS01 vaccine, developed and produced by GSK and supplied in the future by Bharat Biotech, a second vaccine, R21/Matrix-M, developed by Oxford University and manufactured by the Serum Institute of India (SII), is also expected to be prequalified by the WHO soon. Gavi recently presented its roadmap for increasing supply to meet demand.

16.3 C
Genève
samedi, juin 22, 2024

Vaccin contre le paludisme: espoir pour certains pays africains

En réponse à la forte demande d’obtention du premier vaccin contre le paludisme, recommandé par l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé, 12 pays d’Afrique se verront attribuer un total de 18 millions de doses pour la période 2023-2025. Ce déploiement est une étape cruciale dans la lutte contre l’une des maladies les plus meurtrières en Afrique, tuant près d’un demi-million d’enfants de moins de 5 ans et représentant environ 95 % des cas de cette maladie infectieuse dans le monde.

Depuis que l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé a recommandé l’utilisation du premier vaccin antipaludique, RTS,S/AS01, pour la prévention du paludisme à Plasmodium falciparum chez les enfants vivant dans des régions où la transmission est modérée à élevée, on assiste à une très forte demande de doses.

Demande élevée
En juillet 2022, Gavi, l’Alliance du Vaccin, a proposé un financement pour aider les pays éligibles à déployer ce vaccin (et d’autres vaccins antipaludiques dès qu’ils seront disponibles). Depuis lors, plus de 28 pays ont exprimé leur intérêt pour obtenir le vaccin. Quatorze demandes, soumises lors des deux premières opportunités de candidature (septembre 2022 et janvier 2023), ont été recommandées pour approbation par le Comité d’examen indépendant (CEI) de Gavi. Actuellement, 18 millions de vaccins sont disponibles pour la période 2023-2025. Ce nombre est insuffisant pour permettre une distribution dans tous les pays recommandés par le CEI.

Phases-pilote
Depuis 2019, le Ghana, le Kenya et le Malawi administrent le vaccin antipaludique dans le cadre du Programme de mise en œuvre du vaccin antipaludique (MVIP), coordonné par l’OMS et financé par Gavi, le Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme, et Unitaid. Ainsi, le vaccin RTS,S/AS01 a été administré à plus de 1,7 million d’enfants dans les trois pays cités. Il s’est avéré sûr et efficace, entraînant à la fois une réduction substantielle du paludisme grave et une baisse du nombre de décès d’enfants.

Cadre d’allocation de vaccins
En prévision de la différence entre la demande et l’offre, l’OMS avait coordonné, début 2022, l’élaboration d’un cadre d’allocation pour attribuer de manière transparente une quantité limitée de vaccins antipaludiques. Le groupe de mise en œuvre du cadre d’allocation, composé de personnel technique de l’OMS, de l’UNICEF, du secrétariat de Gavi et des centres africains de contrôle et de prévention des maladies (Africa CDC), a été chargé de recommander les quantités de vaccins antipaludiques à allouer aux pays. La démarche a été effectuée en suivant les principes, les considérations et les indicateurs définis par le cadre d’allocation à savoir: un besoin urgent, un impact maximum sur la santé, un partage équitable des avantages et l’assurance de poursuite du programme de vaccination.

Prochaines vaccinations
Outre le Ghana, le Kenya et le Malawi, l’allocation initiale de 18 millions de doses permettra à neuf autres pays (Bénin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroun, République démocratique du Congo, Liberia, Niger, Sierra Leone, Ouganda) d’introduire pour la première fois le vaccin dans leurs programmes de vaccination systématique. Ce cycle d’attribution utilise les doses de vaccin dont dispose Gavi, par l’intermédiaire de l’UNICEF. Les premières doses de vaccin devraient arriver dans les pays au cours du dernier trimestre de 2023, et les pays devraient commencer à les administrer au début de 2024.

D’autres vaccins en dévelopement
La demande mondiale annuelle de vaccins antipaludiques est estimée à 40-60 millions de doses pour la seule année 2026, et passera à 80-100 millions de doses par an d’ici 2030. Outre le vaccin RTS,S/AS01, développé et produit par GSK et fourni à l’avenir par Bharat Biotech, un deuxième vaccin, R21/Matrix-M, développé par l’Université d’Oxford et fabriqué par le Serum Institute of India (SII), devrait également être bientôt préqualifié par l’OMS. Gavi a récemment présenté sa feuille de route pour soutenir l’augmentation de l’offre afin de répondre à la demande.