18.2 C
Geneva
Monday, April 15, 2024

Paris to host HEAD-Geneva exhibition during Design Week

After Milan, Paris will host an exhibition during "Design Week" in September, conceived by HEAD-Geneva to showcase, in an original way, some of the women designers forgotten by history.

The exhibition " Spirits. Excellent for the head", conceived by first-year students in the Master Espace et Communication program at HEAD-Geneva, celebrates the spirit and souls of women designers with a series of glasses and cocktails. In an installation listing over 260 female designers, including Ray Kaiser-Eames (USA), Daisy Ginsberg (South Africa/Great Britain), Eileen Gray (Ireland), Anab Jain (India), Sophie Taeuber-Arp (Switzerland), Magdalene Odundo (Kenya) and Valentine Schlegel (France), a tribute is paid to these international creators often overlooked by most art history dictionaries.

The exhibition plays with words, "Spirits" meaning alcohol, spirit and soul. That's why the students decided to celebrate the spirits and souls of women designers with a series of glasses and cocktails. They were inspired by an editorial in "Farmer's Cabinet", a publication dating back to 1803, in which the journalist first mentions the curative properties of "cocktail" in the following terms: "Drank a glass of cocktail - excellent for the head".

Pulled by the HEAD-Geneva locomotive, the customized carriages of a Swiss model train transport the glasses as they circulate through a custom-designed scenography. Revisiting the constructive principle of Ray Kaiser-Eames and Charles Eames' Giant House of Cards (1953), an XXL-sized deck of cards, the photographs of the glasses interlock to create a landscape of architecture and three-dimensional structures.

Last April, during Milano Design Week at the House of Switzerland, a group exhibition was held featuring a series of seven different blown glasses, each inspired by a little-known designer, accompanied by the same number of signature cocktails created for the occasion.

A new opportunity has arisen in September (7 to 11), during "Design Week" in Paris, to convey HEAD-Geneva's message of the urgent need to rebalance the history of design in the fields of education, exhibitions and major trade events.

Head-Geneva's Master of Space and Communication is an experimental design program that, through inquiry-based practices, explores the interstices between object, film, performance, media and space as an interface for communication and experimentation.

For more information: https://www.hesge.ch/head/

17.9 C
Genève
jeudi, juillet 18, 2024

Paris accueillera pendant la Design Week l’exposition de la HEAD–Genève

Après Milan, Paris accueillera pendant la « Design Week », au mois de septembre, une exposition concue par la HEAD–Genève pour mettre en valeur, de façon originale, quelques femmes designers oubliées par l’histoire.

L’exposition « Spirits. Excellent for the head » conçue par des étudiants en première année de Master Espace et Communication de la HEAD–Genève célèbre l’esprit et les âmes de femmes designers avec une série de verres et de cocktails. Au sein d’une installation répertoriant plus de 260 designeuses, parmi lesquelles on compte Ray Kaiser-Eames (Etats-Unis), Daisy Ginsberg (Afrique du Sud/Grande-Bretagne), Eileen Gray (Irlande), Anab Jain (Inde), Sophie Taeuber-Arp (Suisse), Magdalene Odundo (Kenya) et Valentine Schlegel (France), un hommage est rendu à ces créatrices internationales souvent oubliées par la plupart des dictionnaires d’Histoire de l’art.

L’exposition joue avec les mots, « Spirits » signifiant, en anglais, à la fois alcool, esprit et âmes. Raison pour laquelle les étudiants ont décidé de célébrer l’esprit et les âmes des femmes designers avec une série de verres et de cocktails. Ils ont été inspirés par un éditorial du « Farmer’s Cabinet », publication datant de 1803, dans lequel le journaliste mentionne pour la première fois les propriétés curatives du « cocktail » en ces termes : «Drank a glass of cocktail – excellent for the head ».

Tirés par la locomotive de la HEAD–Genève, les wagons customisés d’un train suisse en modèle réduit transporte les verres en circulant dans une scénographie conçue sur mesure. Revisitant le principe constructif du Giant House of Cards (1953) de Ray Kaiser-Eames et Charles Eames, un jeu de cartes format XXL, les photographies des verres s’imbriquent les unes dans les autres pour créer un paysage d’architectures et de structures tridimensionnelles.

En avril dernier, c’est durant la « Milano Design Week », au sein de la « House of Switzerland», qu’une exposition collective présentant une série de sept différents verres soufflés, chacun inspiré par une designer méconnue, accompagnée par le même nombre de cocktails signatures créés pour l’occasion, avait été organisée.

Ainsi, une nouvelle opportunité se présente en septembre (du 7 au 11), à Paris, lors de la « Design Week » pour véhiculer le message de la HEAD-Genève qui consiste à souligner l’urgence de réquilibrer l’histoire du design tant dans le domaine de l’éducation, que dans ceux des expositions et des grands événements marchands.

Le Master Espace et Communication de la Head-Genève est un programme de design expérimental qui, par le biais de pratiques axées sur l’investigation, explore les interstices entre l’objet, le film, la performance, les médias et l’espace en tant qu’interface de communication et d’expérimentation.

Pour en savoir plus: https://www.hesge.ch/head/