21.2 C
Geneva
Monday, April 15, 2024

Traditional medicine: World summit in India

The first World Summit on Traditional Medicine will be held in Gandhinagar, India, in conjunction with a meeting of G20 health ministers. Organized jointly by the World Health Organization and the Indian government, the meeting aims to highlight the vast potential of traditional medicine in resolving urgent health-related problems, as well as increasing the well-being of populations and respecting our planet.

For centuries, traditional, indigenous and ancestral knowledge has been an important part of healthcare in many parts of the world. For many countries, it represents an important part of the healthcare economy, and for millions of people, it is the only available source of health care.

India's role

On the initiative of the World Health Organization (WHO) and India, the first World Summit on Traditional Medicine will be held on August 17 and 18 in Gandhinagar, the Indian city created in the 1960s in tribute to Mahatma Gandhi, the national hero of independence. The Gujarat region is a hub for medical tourism and the pharmaceutical sector, which is why India's Minister of Health, Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya, said he hoped the event would open up new investment prospects in the field. The meeting is an integral part of the G20 meeting of health ministers, which India has chaired since last December. In 2022, WHO had already secured the support of the Indian government to create the first Global Centre for Traditional Medicine in response to growing global interest. This knowledge facility focuses on partnership, evidence, biodiversity and innovation. Its aim is to optimize the contribution of traditional medicine to global health.

Inclusion of traditional medicine

In 2019, at the United Nations High-Level Meeting on Universal Health Coverage, the participating Heads of State and Government recognized the need to include, in a complementary way, traditional medicine services. Traditional medicine plays an important role in the culture, health and well-being of many communities around the world. In 170 of the 194 WHO member states, the use of herbal medicines, acupuncture, yoga, indigenous therapies and other forms of traditional medicine is a reality. According to the organization, around 40% of pharmaceuticals are now made from a natural product, and leading medicines are derived from traditional medicine, such as aspirin, artemisinin and treatments for childhood cancer. Traditional medicine is recognized as a valuable source of care, and is often already integrated into national health systems alongside my modern medicine.

African continent

Africa has a traditional medicine that has been effective for centuries. It plays an important role as an alternative or complement to local health care. The continent has more than 89 medicines derived from traditional pharmacopoeia in 14 countries, for which the WHO has supported research and development leading to marketing authorization. Some 40 of these medicines are also on national essential drug lists, and are now part of the arsenal for treating patients suffering from a wide range of illnesses, including HIV-related infections, diabetes, sickle-cell anemia and hypertension. According to WHO-Afro's regional advisor for traditional medicine, Dr Ossy Kasilo, "the large-scale manufacture and marketing of medicines derived from traditional pharmacopoeia, which involve the cultivation of medicinal plants as well as the harvesting and post-harvesting processes, offer advantages in terms of socio-economic development". In 2020, WHO and the African Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC Africa) launched an Expert Advisory Committee to provide independent scientific support and advice to countries on the safety, efficacy and quality of traditional medicine therapies in the face of Covid-19.

High-level meeting

Participants in the Traditional Medicine Summit include Ministers of Health from over 40 countries, WHO Director-General Dr. Tedros and his agency's Regional Directors, and guests from the international organization's six regions. The event will bring together traditional medicine practitioners, users and communities, national decision-makers, international organizations, as well as representatives from academia, the private sector and civil society. It will be an opportunity to share best practices, data and innovations highlighting the contribution of traditional medicine to health and sustainable development.

Roadmap

The aim of the event is to establish a roadmap for intensifying scientific advances in traditional medicine systems and practices. Topics will include research, data, regulation, clinical practice, innovation, digital health, biodiversity and conservation, and equitable benefit sharing. In future, a summit on traditional medicine will be held every two years in one of the different WHO regions.

20.2 C
Genève
jeudi, juillet 18, 2024

Médecine traditionnelle : Sommet mondial organisé en Inde

Le premier Sommet mondial sur la médecine traditionnelle se tiendra à Gandhinagar (Inde), parallèlement à la tenue d’une réunion des ministres de la santé du G20. Organisé conjointement par l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé et par le gouvernement indien, la réunion souhaite mettre en évidence le vaste potentiel de la médecine traditionnelle dans la résolution des problèmes urgents liés à la santé, tout comme dans l’augmentation du bien-être des populations et le respect de notre planète.

Depuis des siècles, les savoirs traditionnels, indigènes et ancestraux représentent une part importante des soins dans plusieurs régions du monde. Pour de nombreux pays, ils représentent une part importante de l’économie du secteur de la santé et, pour des millions de personnes, ils sont la seule source disponible pour se soigner.

Rôle de l’Inde

C’est à l’initiative de l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé (OMS) et de l’Inde que le premier Sommet mondial sur la médecine traditionnelle se tiendra les 17 et 18 août à Gandhinagar, ville indienne créée dans les années 60 en hommage au Mahatma Gandhi, héros national de l’indépendance. La région du Gujarat constitue la plaque tournante du tourisme médical et du secteur pharmaceutique, raison pour laquelle le ministre de la santé indien, le Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya, a déclaré espérer que l’événement ouvrira de nouvelles perspectives d’investissement dans le domaine. La réunion fait partie intégrante de celle des ministres de la santé du G20, présidé depuis décembre dernier par l’Inde. En 2022, l’OMS avait déjà obtenu le soutien du gouvernement indien pour créer le premier Centre mondial de médecine traditionnelle en réponse à l’intérêt mondial croissant. Cet établissement de connaissances met l’accent sur le partenariat, les données probantes, la biodiversité et l’innovation. Il a pour objectif d’optimiser la contribution de la médecine traditionnelle à la santé mondiale.

Inclusion de la médecine traditionnelle

En 2019, lors de la réunion de haut niveau des Nations Unies sur la couverture sanitaire universelle, les chefs d’État et de gouvernement participant avaient reconnu la nécessité d’inclure, de manière complémentaire, des services de médecine traditionnelle. En effet, celle-ci joue un rôle important dans la culture, la santé et le bien-être de nombreuses communautés dans le monde. Dans 170 des 194 États-membres de l’OMS, l’utilisation de plantes médicinales, d’acupuncture, de yoga, de thérapies indigènes et d’autres formes de médecines traditionnelles est une réalité. D’après l’organisation, environ 40 % des produits pharmaceutiques sont désormais constitués à base d’un produit naturel, et les médicaments phares proviennent de la médecine traditionnelle, tels que l’aspirine, l’artémisinine et les traitements contre le cancer de l’enfant. La médecine traditionnelle est reconnue comme une source précieuse de soins et elle est souvent déjà intégrée dans les systèmes de santé nationaux, aux côtés de ma médecine moderne.

Continent africain

L’Afrique possède une médecine traditionnelle qui est effective depuis des siècles. Elle joue un rôle important en tant qu’alternative ou complément pour prodiguer des soins aux populations locales. Le continent possède plus de 89 médicaments issus de la pharmacopée traditionnelle dans 14 pays pour lesquels l’OMS a soutenu la recherche et le développement conduisant à leur autorisation de mise sur le marché. Une quarantaine de ces médicaments figurent également sur les listes nationales de médicaments essentiels et font désormais partie de l’arsenal qui permet de traiter les patients atteints d’un large éventail de maladies comprenant les infections liées au VIH, le diabète, la drépanocytose et l’hypertension. Selon la conseillère régionale chargée de médecine traditionnelle pour OMS-Afro, la Doctoresse Ossy Kasilo, « la fabrication et la commercialisation à grande échelle des médicaments issus de la pharmacopée traditionnelle, qui impliquent la culture des plantes médicinales ainsi que les processus de récolte et de post-récolte, présentent des avantages en termes de développement socio-économique ». En 2020, l’OMS et les Centres africains de contrôle et de prévention des maladies (CDC Afrique) ont lancé un Comité consultatif d’experts chargé de fournir un soutien et des conseils scientifiques indépendants aux pays sur la sécurité, l’efficacité et la qualité des thérapies de médecine traditionnelle, face à la Covid-19.

Réunion de haut-niveau

Parmi les participants au Sommet sur la médecine traditionnelle figurent les ministres de la santé originaires de plus de 40 pays, le Dr Tedros, directeur général de l’OMS, et les directeurs régionaux de l’agence qu’il dirige, et des invités en provenance des six régions de l’organisation internationale. Cet événement rassemblera à la fois des agents de la médecine traditionnelle, des utilisateurs et des communautés, des décideurs nationaux, des organisations internationales, ainsi que des représentants du milieu universitaire, du secteur privé et de la société civile. Ce sera une opportunité de partage des meilleures pratiques, de données et d’innovations mettant en évidence la contribution de la médecine traditionnelle à la santé et au développement durable.

Feuille de route

L’objectif de l’événement est de pouvoir mettre en place une feuille de route pour intensifier les avancées scientifiques dans les systèmes et pratiques de la médecine traditionnelle. Les thèmes évoqués seront la recherche, les données, la réglementation, la pratique clinique, l’innovation, la santé numérique, la biodiversité et la conservation, ainsi que le partage équitable des avantages. A l’avenir, un sommet sur la médecine traditionnelle se tiendra tous les deux ans dans une des différentes régions de l’OMS.