18.2 C
Geneva
Monday, April 15, 2024

Firsts at the World Meteorological Organization

Argentina's Celeste Saulo has been elected Secretary-General of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO). She thus becomes the first woman, and the first representative of the South, to head the UN agency in charge of monitoring climate change and meteorological phenomena. In the organization's presidential election, Abdulla Al Mandous of the United Arab Emirates won the majority of votes. The new head of the WMO will begin her four-year term on January 1, 2024.

Celeste Saulo, 59, Director of Argentina's National Meteorological Service since 2014, and currently First Vice-President of the WMO, was elected on the first ballot after obtaining the required two-thirds majority of votes from the 193 members during the World Meteorological Congress.

Other candidates for the post of Secretary General included the Russo-Swiss Elena Manaenkova and Albert Martis from Curacao. In recent weeks, however, the campaign has been particularly fierce between the current Under-Secretary General, the Chinese Zhang Wenjian, and the South American.

Great expertise

Professor Celeste Saulo has made a career in academia. She has been particularly interested in the link between scientific research and the needs of society.

At Argentina's National Meteorological Service, she has promoted major organizational changes, based on management that aims for concrete results and responds to social demands. Her research has led to a better understanding of the South American monsoon system and the precipitation and circulation patterns associated with it during the warm season. In recent years, she has focused on interdisciplinary issues such as wind power generation, agricultural applications and early warning systems. Her extensive teaching experience is mainly linked to numerical weather prediction, atmospheric dynamics and thermodynamics, mesoscale meteorology, cloud dynamics and cloud microphysics.

WMO Family

Celeste Saulo has long been involved in WMO activities. In June 2015, she was elected a member of the organization's Executive Council. In April 2018, she was elected Second Vice-President and, in June 2019, she was elected First Vice-President, becoming the first woman to hold this position. Previously, the Argentine was a member of several WMO scientific expert groups. Until 2018, she was a member of the Scientific Steering Committee of the World Weather Research Programme (WWRP). She was also a member of the Working Group on Seasonal and Interannual Forecasts and the WCRP/CLIVAR Expert Group on the Variability of American Monsoon Systems.

President from the Gulf region

Permanent Representative of the United Arab Emirates to the WMO since 2008, Abdulla Al Mandous has also been President of the Asia Regional Association since 2017.

A member of the WMO Executive Council, the Emirati has chaired the Panel on Tropical Cyclones. He is also a member of the Standing Committee on Meteorology of the League of Arab States and of the Gulf Cooperation Council for Meteorology. Abdulla Al Mandous, the first President from the Gulf region, took office on Thursday June1st. The United Arab Emirates will host the United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP28) from November 30 to December 12 this year.

New vice-presidents

Three new vice-presidents were also elected. They are Mrutyunjay Mohapatra, Director of the Indian Meteorological Department, now WMO Third Vice-President; Eoin Moran, Director of the Irish Meteorological Service, now Second Vice-President; and Daouda Konate, Director of Meteorology for Côte d'Ivoire, who has been chosen as the agency's First Vice-President for the next four years. The Ivorian is President of the WMO Regional Association for Africa.

A growing agency

In recent years, the WMO has become increasingly important in the fight against global warming. It is also responsible for the International Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), whose independent experts produce the assessments that inform the international community's response to global warming.

16.3 C
Genève
samedi, juin 22, 2024

Premières à l’Organisation Météorologique Mondiale

L’Argentine Celeste Saulo a été élue Secrétaire générale de l’Organisation Météorologique Mondiale (OMM). Elle devient ainsi la première femme et première représentante du Sud, à prendre la tête de l’agence onusienne en charge de la surveillance du changement climatique et des phénomènes météorologiques. Du côté de l’élection présidentielle de l’organisation, c’est le représentant des Emirats Arabes Unis, Abdulla Al Mandous, qui a obtenu la majorité des voix. La nouvelle cheffe de l’OMM entamera son mandat de quatre ans le 1er janvier 2024.

Celeste Saulo, 59 ans, directrice du Service météorologique national de l’Argentine depuis 2014, et actuellement première vice-présidente de l’OMM a été élue dès le premier tour après avoir obtenu la majorité requise des deux tiers des voix des 193 membres durant le Congrès météorologique mondial.

Parmi les autres candidats au poste de Secrétaire général figuraient la Russo-Suisse, Elena Manaenkova, et Albert Martis originaire de Curaçao. Mais, ces dernière semaines la campagne a surtout fait rage entre l’actuel sous-secrétaire général, le chinois Zhang Wenjian et la ressortissante sud-américaine.

Grande expertise

La professeur Celeste Saulo a fait carrière dans le monde universitaire. Elle s’est particulièrement penchée sur le lien entre la recherche scientifique et les besoins de la société.

Au Service météorologique national d’Argentine, elle a encouragé des changements organisationnels importants, fondés sur une gestion qui vise des résultats concrets, répond aux demandes sociales. Ses recherches ont permis de mieux comprendre le système de mousson sud-américain et les schémas de précipitations et de circulation qui y sont associés pendant la saison chaude. Ces dernières années, elle a approfondi son activité sur des problèmes interdisciplinaires tels que la production d’énergie éolienne, les applications agricoles et les systèmes d’alerte précoce. Sa vaste expérience de l’enseignement est principalement liée à la prévision météorologique numérique, à la dynamique et à la thermodynamique de l’atmosphère, à la météorologie à méso-échelle, à la dynamique des nuages et à la microphysique des nuages.

Familiaire de l’OMM

Celeste Saulo est impliquée depuis longtemps dans les activités de l’OMM. En juin 2015, elle a été élue membre du Conseil exécutif de l’organisation. En avril 2018, elle a été élue deuxième vice-présidente et, en juin 2019, elle a été élue première vice-présidente, devenant ainsi la première femme à occuper cette fonction. Auparavant, l’argentine a été membre de plusieurs groupes d’experts scientifiques de l’OMM. Jusqu’en 2018, elle a été membre du Comité directeur scientifique du Programme mondial de recherche météorologique (PMRM). Elle a également fait partie du groupe de travail sur les prévisions saisonnières et interannuelles et du groupe d’experts PMRC/CLIVAR sur la variabilité des systèmes de mousson américains.

Président issu de la région du Golfe

Représentant permanent des Émirats Arabes Unis auprès de l’OMM depuis 2008, Abdulla Al Mandous est aussi Président de l’Association régionale pour l’Asie depuis 2017.

Membre du Conseil exécutif de l’OMM l’émirati a présidé le Groupe d’experts sur les cyclones tropicaux. Il est aussi membre du Comité permanent de météorologie de la Ligue des États arabes et du Conseil de coopération du Golfe pour la météorologie. Premier président issu de la région du Golfe, Abdulla Al Mandous occupe les fonctions de Président depuis jeudi 1er juin. Les Émirats Arabes Unis accueilleront la conférence des Nations unies sur le changement climatique (COP28) du 30 novembre au 12 décembre de cette année.

De nouveaux vice-présidents

Trois nouveaux vice-présidents ont également été élus. Il s’agit de Mrutyunjay Mohapatra, directeur du département météorologique indien désormais troisième vice-président de l’OMM, du directeur du service de météorologie irlandaise, Eoin Moran, qui occupe maintenant le poste de deuxième vice-président et c’est Daouda Konate, directeur de la météorologie de Côte d’Ivoire, qui a été choisi comme premier vice-président de l’agence pour les quatre prochaines années. L’ivoirien est président de l’Association régionale de l’OMM pour l’Afrique.

Une agence de plus en plus importante

Avec la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique, l’OMM a pris de plus en plus d’importance ces dernières années. Elle a aussi la charge du Groupe International d’Experts sur le Climat (GIEC) dont les experts indépendants lancent les évaluations qui alimentent la réponse de la communauté internationale face au réchauffement climatique.