9.7 C
Geneva
Friday, May 24, 2024

Sudan: humanitarian disaster foretold

The United Nations humanitarian affairs chief has just issued an urgent appeal to the entire international community concerning the situation in Sudan. The war, which began in mid-April, is taking on worrying proportions and spreading across the country. Fighting between the Sudanese Armed Forces (SAF) and the paramilitary Rapid Support Forces (RSF) has already resulted in the internal displacement of over 3.6 million people, while almost a million have fled across borders. A prolonged conflict in Sudan could wipe out the country and tip the region into a humanitarian catastrophe. The humanitarian appeal for 2023 amounted to $55 billion, of which only 27.6% has been received.

In a short statement, the United Nations Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator at the Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA), Martin Griffith, expressed his deepest concern about the evolution of the conflict in Sudan.

Lack of food

"The intense fighting that has ravaged the capital Khartoum and Darfur has spread to Kordofan. In the capital of South Kordofan, Kadugli, food stocks have been completely depleted, while clashes and roadblocks are preventing humanitarian workers from reaching the starving. In the capital of West Kordofan, El Fula, humanitarian offices have been ransacked and supplies looted". The UK is also very concerned about the safety of civilians in Al Jazira State, as the conflict closes in on Sudan's breadbasket.

Running for your life

According to the latest UN figures, more than 3.6 million people have fled within Sudan to escape the fighting. Nearly a million others have fled beyond its borders, particularly to Chad and Egypt, but also to the Central African Republic, Ethiopia and Southern Sudan. Host communities are now in dire straits. A prolonged conflict in Sudan could tip the entire region into a humanitarian catastrophe. According to the head of OCHA, "a long-lasting conflict will certainly result in the loss of a generation of children, as millions will be denied access to education, suffer trauma and bear the physical and psychological scars of war". James Elder, spokesman for the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF), said that two million children had been displaced since the start of the conflict. Reports of children being used in the fighting are worrying the heads of several UN agencies.

Health emergency

After four months of conflict in Sudan, insecurity and limited access to medicines, medical supplies, electricity and water continue to pose a problem for health care in states directly affected by the conflict. Medical facilities located in areas not affected by the fighting are overwhelmed by the influx of displaced people and the lack of equipment. According to the Preliminary Committee of the Sudanese Doctors' Union, 67% (60 out of 89) of the main hospitals in the affected regions, such as Khartoum, Kordofan and Darfur, were completely out of service on May 31.

Risk of epidemics

With the onset of the rainy season, there is an increased risk of epidemics of water-borne diseases. Cases of severe acute malnutrition, dengue fever, measles and acute watery diarrhoea have been reported in various states. In addition, between April 15 and August 11, 53 attacks on medical facilities were recorded, resulting in 11 deaths and 38 injuries. The World Health Organization (WHO) condemns in the strongest possible terms the multiplication of these acts and the occupation of health facilities.

Imperative need for funds

OCHA's spokesman in Geneva, Jens Laerke, pointed out that a vast humanitarian appeal for $2.6 billion had been launched, and that 26% of it ($666 million) was currently funded.

16.3 C
Genève
samedi, juin 22, 2024

Soudan: catastrophe humanitaire annoncée

Le responsable des affaires humanitaires des Nations Unies vient de lancer un appel urgent à l’ensemble de la Communauté internationale sur la situation au Soudan. La guerre, débutée à la mi-avril, prend des proportions inquiétantes et se répand à travers le pays. Les combats entre les forces armées soudanaises (SAF) et les forces paramilitaires de soutien rapide (RSF) ont déjà entraîné le déplacement interne de plus de 3,6 millions de personnes, tandis que près d’un million ont fui au-delà des frontières. Un conflit prolongé au Soudan pourrait anéantir le pays et faire basculer la région dans une catastrophe humanitaire. Le montant de l’appel humanitaire pour 2023 s’élevait à 55 milliards de dollars, seuls 27,6 % ont été reçus.

Dans une courte déclaration le Secrétaire général adjoint aux affaires humanitaires des Nations Unies et Coordonnateur des secours d’urgence, au Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires (OCHA), Martin Griffith, a exprimé sa plus vive inquiétude au sujet de l’évolution du conflit au Soudan.

Manque de nourriture

« Les combats intenses qui ont ravagé la capitale Khartoum et le Darfour se sont étendus au Kordofan. Dans la capitale du Kordofan Sud, Kadugli, les stocks de nourriture ont été entièrement épuisés, tandis que les affrontements et les barrages routiers empêchent les travailleurs humanitaires d’atteindre les personnes affamées. Dans la capitale du Kordofan occidental, El Fula, les bureaux humanitaires ont été saccagés et les fournitures pillées ». Le britannique est également très préoccupé par la sécurité des civils dans l’État d’Al Jazira, alors que le conflit se rapproche du grenier à blé du Soudan.

Fuir pour sauver sa vie

Selon les derniers chiffres de l’ONU, plus de 3,6 millions de personnes se sont déplacées à l’intérieur du Soudan pour fuir les combats. Près d’un million d’autres ont fui au-delà de ses frontières particulièrement au Tchad et en Egypte mais aussi en Centrafrique, en Ethiopie, et au Sud-Soudan. Les communautés d’accueil sont désormais en difficulté. Un conflit prolongé au Soudan pourrait faire basculer toute la région dans une catastrophe humanitaire. D’après le chef d’OCHA, « un conflit de longue durée entraînera certainement la perte d’une génération d’enfants, car des millions d’entre eux n’auront pas accès à l’éducation, subiront des traumatismes et porteront les cicatrices physiques et psychologiques de la guerre ». James Elder, porte-parole du Fonds des Nations unies pour l’enfance (UNICEF), a déclaré que deux millions d’enfants avaient été déplacés depuis le début du conflit. Des informations selon lesquelles des enfants seraient utilisés dans les combats inquiètent les responsables de plusieurs agences du système des Nations Unies.

Urgence sanitaire

Après quatre mois de conflit au Soudan, l’insécurité et l’accès limité aux médicaments, aux fournitures médicales, à l’électricité et à l’eau continuent de poser un problème pour prodiguer des soins dans les États directement touchés par le conflit. Les structures médicales situées dans les zones qui ne sont pas affectées par les combats, sont dépassées par l’afflux de personnes déplacées et le manque de matériel. Selon le Comité Préliminaire du Syndicat des médecins soudanais, 67 % (60 sur 89) des principaux hôpitaux des régions touchées, comme Khartoum, le Kordofan et le Darfour, étaient totalement hors service au 31 mai.

Risques d’épidémies

Avec le début de la saison des pluies, il existe un risque accru d’épidémies de maladies transmises par l’eau. Des cas de malnutrition aiguë sévère, de dengue, de rougeole et de diarrhée aqueuse aiguë sont signalés dans différents États. De plus, entre le 15 avril et le 11 août, 53 attaques contre des installations médicales ont été constatées, entraînant le décès de 11 personnes et causant 38 blessés. L’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé (OMS) condamne avec la plus grande fermeté la multiplication de ces actes et l’occupation des établissements de santé.

Besoin impératif de fonds

Le porte-parole d’OCHA à Genève, Jens Laerke, a rappelé qu’un vaste appel humanitaire de 2,6 milliards de dollars avait été lancé et qu’il est actuellement financé à hauteur de 26 %, soit 666 millions de dollars.