18.2 C
Geneva
Monday, April 15, 2024

Climate change: concern for the Pacific

The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) has just published a worrying report on the state of the climate in the South-West Pacific region. The document highlights the profound and interconnected challenges facing the region. It also highlights the socio-economic risks and impacts on key sectors such as agriculture. Rising sea levels threaten the future of low-lying islands, while increasing ocean heat and acidification are harming vital and vulnerable marine ecosystems. The urgent need for action to mitigate and adapt to these critical issues is underlined.

Released on the occasion of the "Third Pacific Ministerial Meeting on Meteorology" and the "First Development Partner and Donor Engagement Meeting in Fiji", the report entitled: "State of the Climate in 2022 in the South West Pacific", provides an overview of climate indicators and extreme weather events over the past year.

La Niña

According to the document, the three-year La Niña episode had a clear influence on temperatures in 2022. Despite this temporary cooling, the year was warm for the region. The average temperature was 0.2°C to 0.3°C higher than that recorded during the last La Niña episode in 2011. The Secretary General of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), Petteri Taalas, has stated that the El Niño phenomenon, which succeeded La Niña, is very likely to continue for the rest of the year. It will have a significant impact on the southwest Pacific region, as it is often associated with higher temperatures, marine heat waves and coral bleaching.

Ice thickness

The ice thickness of the glacier located in the western part of the Indonesian island of New Guinea shows a sharp decrease. From 2016 to 2022, the average reduction in ice area was around 0.07 km2 per year. Ice thickness measurements show a reduction of 24 meters between June 2010 and early 2021. By December 2022, it was estimated at six metres.

Ocean level

The WMO report indicates that ocean level rise in the Pacific region (4mm) exceeds the global average. Warming of the oceans, which absorb more than 90% of the excess heat, contributes around 40% of the average sea-level rise. It modifies ocean currents, storm tracks and affects marine ecosystems.

Victims

In 2022, 35 natural disasters were reported in the southwest Pacific according to the International Disaster Database, over 70% of which were floods. These events caused more than 700 deaths, over 70% of which were storm-related, particularly in the Philippines and Fiji. More than 8 million people were directly affected by these hazards.

Warning system

Early warning is one of the most effective ways of reducing the damage caused by disasters, as it enables people to make informed decisions about food security and other sectors. Despite ongoing efforts, the report shows that there are still significant gaps to be filled.

Economic losses

In 2022, overall, floods caused the highest economic losses in Australia, with a total of over $8 billion, followed by Indonesia (over $74 million) and the Philippines (over $11 million). This spectacular increase is mainly due to the Australian floods, as well as those caused by tropical storms "Megi" and "Nalgae" in the Philippines.

18.2 C
Genève
samedi, juin 22, 2024

Changement climatique : préoccupation pour le Pacifique

L’Organisation météorologique mondiale (OMM) vient de publier un rapport préoccupant sur l’état du climat dans la région sud-ouest du Pacifique. Le document souligne les défis profonds et interconnectés auxquels la région est confrontée. Il met aussi en évidence les risques socio-économiques et les impacts sur des secteurs clés tels que l’agriculture. L’élévation du niveau de la mer menace l’avenir des îles de faible altitude, tandis que l’augmentation de la chaleur et de l’acidification des océans nuit aux écosystèmes marins vitaux et vulnérables. La nécessité urgente d’agir pour atténuer et s’adapter à ces problèmes critiques est soulignée.

Rendu public à l’occasion de la « Troisième réunion ministérielle du Pacifique sur la météorologie » et de la « Première réunion d’engagement des partenaires du développement et des donateurs à Fidji », le rapport intitulé : « Etat du climat en 2022 dans le sud-ouest du Pacifique », donne un aperçu des indicateurs climatiques ainsi que des phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes de l’année dernière.

La Niña

Selon le document, l’épisode La Niña, qui a duré trois ans, a eu une influence manifeste sur les températures en 2022. Malgré ce refroidissement temporaire, l’année a été chaude pour la région. La température moyenne était supérieure (0,2 °C à 0,3 °C) à celle enregistrée lors du dernier épisode La Niña en 2011. Le secrétaire général de l’Organisation Météorologique Mondiale (OMM), Petteri Taalas, a déclaré que le phénomène El Niño, qui a succédé à La Niña, devrait très probablement se poursuive pendant le reste de l’année. Il aura un impact important sur la région du Pacifique sud-ouest, car il est souvent associé à des températures plus élevées, à des vagues de chaleur marine et de blanchiment des coraux.

Epaisseur de la glace

L’épaisseur de la glace du glacier situé dans la partie occidentale de l’île indonésienne de Nouvelle-Guinée montre une forte diminution. De 2016 à 2022, la réduction moyenne de la superficie de la glace était d’environ 0,07 km2 par an. Les mesures de l’épaisseur de la glace indiquent une réduction de 24 mètres entre juin 2010 et début 2021. En décembre 2022 elle était estimée à six mètres.

Niveau de l’océan

Le rapport de l’OMM indique que l’élévation du niveau de l’océan dans la région Pacifique (4mm) dépasse la moyenne mondiale. Le réchauffement des océans, qui absorbent plus de 90% de l’excès de chaleur, contribue à environ 40 % de l’élévation moyenne du niveau de la mer. Il modifie les courants océaniques, les trajectoires des tempêtes et affecte les écosystèmes marins.

Victimes

En 2022, 35 catastrophes naturelles ont été signalées dans le sud-ouest du Pacifique selon la base internationale de données sur les catastrophes, dont plus de 70 % étaient des inondations. Ces événements ont causé plus de 700 décès, dont plus de 70 % étaient liés à des tempêtes en particulier aux Philippines et à Fidji. Plus de 8 millions de personnes ont été directement touchées par ces aléas.

Système d’alerte

L’alerte précoce est l’un des moyens les plus efficaces de réduire les dommages causés par les catastrophes, car elle permet aux gens de prendre des décisions en connaissance de cause en matière de sécurité alimentaire et dans d’autres secteurs. Malgré les efforts continus déployés le rapport montre qu’il reste d’importantes lacunes à combler.

Pertes économiques

En 2022, dans l’ensemble, les inondations ont causé les pertes économiques les plus élevées en Australie, avec un total de plus de 8 milliards de dollars, suivie par l’Indonésie (plus de 74 millions de dollars) et les Philippines (plus de 11 millions de dollars). Cette augmentation spectaculaire est principalement due aux inondations australiennes ainsi que celles provoquées par les tempêtes tropicales « Megi » et « Nalgae » aux Philippines.