9.7 C
Geneva
Friday, May 24, 2024

Education: 1st international conference on access during crises

Co-organized by Switzerland and "Education Cannot Wait", the UN's global fund for education in emergencies, the first international conference to raise funds for countries affected by emergencies will be held this weekend in Geneva. In close collaboration with the governments of Colombia, Niger, Germany, Norway and South Sudan, the event aims to mobilize the resources needed to provide quality education to 20 million children and adolescents facing some of the world's most devastating humanitarian crises. On the eve of the event, Swiss development cooperation is organizing the International Cooperation Forum, also dedicated to education. At present, over 200 million children have no access to education due to conflict, climate change and other crises.

On February 16 and 17 in Geneva, Switzerland, leaders from around the world will gather for the Education Cannot Wait (ECW) High-Level Funding Conference as part of their commitment to ensuring quality education for all children, everywhere.

High-quality basic and further training are crucial to sustainable development. Around the world, education systems are facing major challenges. Even before the pandemic, six out of ten children did not have a basic level of literacy and numeracy, and COVID-19 exacerbated the situation. Many schools have closed; children have been unable to continue learning, and many young people have had to interrupt their education.

Education Cannot Wait (ECW), created in 2016, to highlight the fact that in the event of conflict, natural disaster, climate change or any other exceptional situation, education cannot wait for better times. Worldwide, 222 million children and adolescents affected by protracted crises urgently need education support. According to ECW, over 78 million of them are not in school at all.

Yasmine Sherif, Fund Director, says the time has come "to stand up for the world's most vulnerable children and young people and keep our promise by ensuring quality education for all by 2030, as set out in the Sustainable Development Goals."

The international conference in Geneva aims to raise funds from donors, foundations and high-net-worth individuals to implement ECW's four-year strategic plan, which will mobilize $1.5 billion in additional resources to provide quality education to 20 million children and adolescents facing some of the world's most devastating humanitarian crises. It will be broadcast live and accessible to the public remotely.

On February 16, leaders will announce substantial new financial contributions to ECW. There will also be a focus on Afghanistan, providing an opportunity to make a strong case for a country where almost 10 million girls and boys depend on humanitarian aid to survive. First to speak will be Gordon Brown, UN Special Envoy for Global Education and Chairman of the ECW High-Level Steering Group; Ignazio Cassis, Federal Councillor of the Swiss Confederation, in charge of Foreign Affairs; Svenja Schulze, Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development of Germany; Ibrahim Natatou, Minister of National Education, Niger; Anne Beathe Tvinnereim, Minister of International Development, Norway; Awut Deng Acuil, Minister of General Education and Instruction, South Sudan; and Alejandro Gaviria, Minister of National Education, Colombia.

On February 17, a series of round tables will focus on sharing ideas and experiences aimed at transforming the delivery of education in emergencies around the world.

The United Nations "Education Cannot Wait" fund has already provided global educational assistance to nearly 7 million children and adolescents. It finances, for example, the upgrading of learning spaces, the purchase of quality school supplies, teacher training and financial support, the provision of mental health and school feeding services, and holistic child-centered solutions. To date, ECW has mobilized over $1.1 billion from donor countries, the private sector and philanthropic foundations.

Switzerland has been defending the right to education for many years. Both basic education and the development of professional skills are cornerstones of Switzerland's international cooperation. As such, the Swiss International Cooperation Forum (February 15) will be dedicated to education, Education4Future. It will bring together diverse voices and perspectives through representatives from politics, research, the younger generation, the private and financial sectors, NGOs and civil society. The hybrid format of the event, with working sessions combining practice and theory, and the interactive platform will enable all interested parties to participate actively in the discussions (see https://icforum.swiss/). As part of "Youth for Solutions", the second day (February 16) will be dedicated to young people, their ideas and approaches.

16.3 C
Genève
samedi, juin 22, 2024

Education : 1ère conférence internationale sur l’accès durant des crises

Coorganisé par la Suisse et « Education Cannot Wait », fonds mondial des Nations Unies pour l’éducation dans les situations d’urgence, la première conférence internationale pour recueillir des fonds au profit de pays touchés par ces contextes se tiendra en fin de semaine à Genève. En étroite collaboration avec les gouvernements allemand, colombien, nigérien, norvégien et sud-soudanais, l’événement vise à mobiliser les ressources indispensables pour offrir une éducation de qualité à 20 millions d’enfants et d’adolescents confrontés à des crises humanitaires parmi les plus dévastatrices au monde. La veille de l’événement, la coopération suisse organise le Forum de la coopération internationale aussi consacré à l’éducation. A l’heure actuelle, plus de 200 millions d’enfants n’ont pas accès à l’éducation en raison de conflits, du changement climatique et d’autres crises.

Les 16 et 17 février à Genève, en Suisse, des dirigeants venus du monde entier se réuniront à l’occasion de la Conférence de haut niveau sur le financement d’ « Education Cannot Wait » (ECW) dans le cadre de leur engagement à garantir une éducation de qualité à tous les enfants, partout dans le monde.

Une formation de base et une formation continue de qualité sont déterminantes pour le développement durable. Aux quatre coins de la planète, les systèmes éducatifs doivent surmonter des défis importants. Avant la pandémie déjà, six enfants sur dix n’avaient pas le niveau de base en lecture et en calcul, et le COVID-19 a aggravé la situation. Plusieurs écoles ont fermé ; les enfants n’ont pas pu poursuivre leur apprentissage et de nombreux jeunes ont dû interrompre leur formation.

Education Cannot Wait (ECW), créé en 2016, pour souligner le fait qu’en cas de conflit, de catastrophe naturelle, de changement climatique ou de toute autre situation exceptionnelle, l’éducation ne peut attendre des temps meilleurs. Dans le monde, 222 millions d’enfants et d’adolescents touchés par des crises prolongées ont urgemment besoin d’un appui à l’éducation. Selon ECW, parmi eux, plus de 78 millions ne sont absolument pas scolarisés.

Yasmine Sherif, directrice du fonds, déclare que le moment est venu « de défendre les enfants et les jeunes les plus vulnérables du monde et de tenir notre promesse en garantissant une éducation de qualité pour tous d’ici à 2030, comme le prévoient les objectifs de développement durable. »

La conférence internationale de Genève vise à mobiliser des fonds auprès de donateurs, de fondations et de particuliers fortunés aux fins de la mise en œuvre du plan stratégique quadriennal d’ECW, qui mobilisera 1,5 milliard de dollars de ressources supplémentaires pour offrir une éducation de qualité à 20 millions d’enfants et d’adolescents confrontés à des crises humanitaires parmi les plus dévastatrices au monde. Elle sera diffusée en direct et accessible au public à distance.

Le 16 février, les dirigeants annonceront l’octroi de nouvelles contributions financières substantielles à ECW. Un gros plan sera aussi fait sur l’Afghanistan, ce qui sera l’occasion d’effectuer un important plaidoyer en faveur d’un pays où près de 10 millions de filles et de garçons dépendent de l’aide humanitaire pour survivre. Les premiers à s’exprimer seront Gordon Brown, Envoyé spécial des Nations Unies pour l’éducation mondiale et Président du Groupe directeur de haut niveau d’ECW ; Ignazio Cassis, Conseiller fédéral de la Confédération suisse, en charge des affaires étrangères ; Svenja Schulze, Ministre fédérale de la Coopération économique et du développement de l’Allemagne ; Ibrahim Natatou, Ministre de l’Éducation nationale du Niger ; Anne Beathe Tvinnereim, Ministre du Développement international de Norvège ; Awut Deng Acuil, Ministre de l’Enseignement général et de l’instruction du Soudan du Sud ; et Alejandro Gaviria, Ministre de l’Éducation nationale de Colombie.

Durant la journée du 17 février se tiendra une série de tables rondes axées sur le partage d’idées et d’expériences visant à transformer la prestation de services d’éducation en situation d’urgence dans le monde entier.

Le fonds des Nations Unies « Education Cannot Wait » a déjà apporté une aide éducative globale à près de 7 millions d’enfants et d’adolescents. Il finance par exemple la mise à niveau des espaces d’apprentissage, l’achat de fournitures scolaires de qualité, la formation et le soutien financier des enseignants, la prestation de services de santé mentale et d’alimentation scolaire ainsi que des solutions holistiques centrées sur l’enfant. À ce jour, ECW a mobilisé plus de 1,1 milliard de dollars provenant de pays donateurs, du secteur privé et de fondations philanthropiques.

La Suisse défend le droit à l’éducation depuis de nombreuses années. Tant l’éducation de base que le développement des compétences professionnelles sont des pierres angulaires de la coopération internationale de la Suisse. A ce titre, le Forum de la coopération internationale Suisse (15 février) sera consacré à l’éducation, Education4Future. Il rassemblera des voix et des perspectives diverses par l’intermédiaire de représentants de la politique, de la recherche, de la jeune génération, des secteurs privé et financier, des ONG et de la société civile. Le format hybride de l’événement avec des sessions de travail alliant pratique et théorie ainsi que la plateforme interactive permettra à toutes les parties intéressées de participer activement aux discussions (consulter le site : https://icforum.swiss/). Dans le cadre de « Youth for Solutions », la deuxième journée (16 février) sera consacrée aux jeunes, à leurs idées et approches.