9.7 C
Geneva
Friday, May 24, 2024

UN: the agency in charge of health celebrates its 75th anniversary

The 76th World Health Assembly will be held in Geneva, Switzerland, from May 21 to 30, 2023. Its theme is: "Saving lives, promoting health for all". This is a particularly important year, as the WHO celebrates its 75th anniversary. For over a week, representatives of the 194 member states will be discussing current and future priorities for public health issues of global importance. At the opening ceremony, Congolese Professor Jean-Jacques Muyembe-Tamfum and Belgian Professor Peter Piot received awards for their tireless commitment to health.

The decision-making body of the World Health Organization (WHO), the World Assembly is held once a year in Geneva, Switzerland, where the organization's headquarters are located. During this meeting, representatives from 194 countries take part in a series of round-table discussions on health issues, in the company of partner institutions, representatives of civil society and WHO experts.

75th Anniversary

On April 7, 2023, the World Health Organization, a specialized agency of the United Nations system, celebrated its 75th anniversary. Indeed, it was in 1948 that 53 countries founded the WHO to promote health, safeguard global security and serve the vulnerable - so that people everywhere can enjoy the highest possible level of health and well-being.The Organization's 75th anniversary year is an opportunity to look back at the advances in public health that have helped improve people's quality of life over the past seven decades. It is also an opportunity to call for action to meet the health challenges of today and tomorrow.

Walk the Talk

To kick off the 76th World Health Assembly (WHA), the4th edition of Walk the Talk took to the streets of Geneva on Sunday morning. The event aims to promote solidarity, exercise and physical and mental health. As every year, Dr Tedros, WHO DG, led the marchers in a 3 km walk. Special activities were organized by Geneva's leading sports clubs, the University Hospitals of Geneva and others. The event also featured British-Rwandan dancer-choreographer Sherrie Silver, Norwegian hip-hop group The Quick Style, Kenyan nurse Lukresia Robai, and the Global Scrubs Choir, a choir made up of caregivers. Kenyan running legend Paul Tergat and two-time Olympic champion Derartu Tulu led a running master class with participants.

Opening ceremony

Thanks to the moderation of Dr. Ahmed Robleh Abdilleh, Djibouti's Minister of Health and President of the 75th WHA, many Heads of State and Government took part in the official opening of the Assembly via video. Alain Berset, President of the Swiss Confederation and Swiss Minister of Health, Filipe Jacinto Nyusi, President of Mozambique, the former Prime Minister of New Zealand, Rt Hon Jacinda Arder, the Head of the Moroccan Government, Aziz Akhannouch, and Gianni Infantino, President of the Fédération Internationale de Football (FIFA), were all in attendance.

Busy schedule

The 76th WHA will determine WHO's immediate and long-term future. It will begin with validation of the program budget for the next two years, key decisions on sustainable funding for the agency, and changes to improve WHO's processes and accountability. Delegates will also consider WHO's essential role in the global health emergency architecture. The Assembly will also review the progress, achievements and challenges of 2022. Future priorities in the main pillars of WHO action - universal health coverage, emergency situations, and the promotion of health and well-being - will also be discussed.

WHO Prize

Established in 2019, the WHO Director-General's Awards for Leaders were presented by Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, to two eminent scientists at the opening session of the 76th World Health Assembly on Sunday, May 21. The recipients, Professor Jean-Jacques Muyembe-Tamfum from the Democratic Republic of Congo, and his Belgian colleague Peter Piot, are public health leaders who were closely involved in the discovery of the Ebola virus disease and the response to the HIV/AIDS epidemic. Professor Muyembe-Tamfum is Director General of the DRC's National Institute for Biomedical Research, Full Professor of Microbiology at the University of Kinshasa's Faculty of Medicine and first President of the Congolese Academy of Sciences. Professor Piot is currently Special Advisor to the President of the EC, and former Director of the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine.

20.2 C
Genève
jeudi, juillet 18, 2024

ONU : l’agence en charge de la santé fête ses 75 ans

La 76ème Assemblée mondiale de la Santé se tient à Genève, en Suisse, du 21 au 30 mai 2023. Son thème est : « Sauver des vies, promouvoir la santé pour tous ». Année particulièrement importante car l’OMS fête son 75ème anniversaire. Durant plus d’une semaine, les représentants des 194 Etats-membres discuteront des priorités actuelles et futures pour les questions de santé publique d’importance mondiale. Lors de l’ouverture, les Professeurs congolais Jean-Jacques Muyembe-Tamfum et le belge Peter Piot ont été récompensés pour leur engagement, sans relâche, en faveur de la santé.

Organe décisionnel de l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé (OMS), l’Assemblée mondiale se tient une fois par an, à Genève (Suisse) où se trouvent les quartiers généraux. Durant cette réunion les représentants de 194 pays participent à une série de tables rondes au cours desquelles sont discutées des questions de santé en compagnie d’institutions partenaires, de représentants de la société civile et d’experts de l’OMS.

75ème Anniversaire

Le 7 avril 2023, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, agence spécialisée du système des Nations Unies, a célébré son 75e anniversaire. En effet, c’est en 1948 que 53 pays ont fondé l’OMS pour promouvoir la santé, préserver la sécurité mondiale et servir les personnes vulnérables – afin que chaque personne, où qu’elle habite, puisse jouir du meilleur état de santé et de bien-être possible.  L’année du 75e anniversaire de l’Organisation est l’occasion de revenir sur les avancées en matière de santé publique qui ont contribué à améliorer la qualité de vie des populations au cours des sept dernières décennies. C’est également l’occasion d’appeler à l’action pour relever les défis qui se posent aujourd’hui et qui se poseront demain en matière de santé.

Walk the Talk

Pour donner le coup d’envoi de la 76ème Assemblée mondiale de la Santé (AMS), la 4ème édition de Walk the Talk (De la parole aux actes) s’est tenue dans les rues de Genève, dimanche matin. L’événement a pour but de promouvoir la solidarité, de faire de l’exercice pour assurer la santé physique et mentale. Comme chaque année, le Dr Tedros, DG de l’OMS s’était placé en tête des marcheurs pour effectuer une marche de 3 km. Des activités spéciales ont été organisées, entre autres, par les principaux clubs sportifs genevois, les Hôpitaux universitaires de Genève. L’événement a également mis en vedette Sherrie Silver, danseuse, chorégraphe rwando-britannique, le groupe de hip-hop norvégien The Quick Style, l’infirmière kenyane Lukresia Robai, et le Global Scrubs Choir, un chœur composé de soignants. La légende kényane de la course à pied, Paul Tergat, et le double champion olympique Derartu Tulu ont animé une master class de course avec les participants.

Cérémonie d’ouverture

Grâce à la modération du Dr Ahmed Robleh Abdilleh, ministre de la Santé de Djibouti et Président de la 75ème AMS, de nombreux chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement sont intervenus via video lors de l’ouverture officielle de l’Assemblée. On a pu noter la présence effective d’Alain Berset, Président de la Confédération Helvétique et ministre de la Santé suisse, de Filipe Jacinto Nyusi, Président du Mozambique, de l’ancienne Première ministre de la Nouvelle-Zélande, Rt Hon Jacinda Arder, du Chef du gouvernement marocain, Aziz Akhannouch et de Gianni Infantino, Président de la Fédération Internationale de Football (FIFA).

Programme chargé

La 76ème AMS déterminera l’avenir immédiat et à long terme de l’OMS. Elle commencera par la validation du budget-programme pour les deux prochaines années, les décisions clés concernant le financement durable de l’agence et les changements mis en place pour améliorer les processus et la responsabilité de l’OMS. Les délégués se pencheront également sur le rôle essentiel de l’OMS dans l’architecture mondiale d’urgence sanitaire. L’Assemblée passera aussi en revue les progrès, les réalisations et les défis de 2022. Les priorités futures dans les principaux piliers de l’action de l’OMS : la couverture sanitaire universelle, les situations d’urgence, la promotion de la santé et du bien-être seront également discutées.

Prix de l’OMS

Créés en 2019, les Prix du Directeur général de l’OMS pour les leaders ont été décernés par le Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, à deux éminents scientifiques lors de la session d’ouverture de la 76e Assemblée mondiale de la Santé, dimanche 21 mai. Les récipiendaires, le Professeur Jean-Jacques Muyembe-Tamfum originaire de la République Démocratique du Congo, et son collègue belge, le Peter Piot sont des leaders de la santé publique qui ont été étroitement impliqués dans la découverte de la maladie à virus Ebola et dans la réponse à l’épidémie de VIH/sida. Le professeur Muyembe-Tamfum est Directeur général de l’Institut national de recherche biomédicale de la RDC, professeur titulaire de microbiologie à la faculté de médecine de l’Université de Kinshasa et premier président de l’Académie congolaise des sciences. Le professeur Piot est actuellement conseiller spécial du président de la CE, ancien Directeur de la London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine.