9.7 C
Geneva
Friday, May 24, 2024

2023: Summer of extremes

The summer of extreme temperatures continues. After the hottest July on record, high-impact weather conditions continue into August. Moderate and severe heat alerts for the next few days have been issued by several national meteorological and hydrological services in Europe, including France, Switzerland, Germany, Poland, Croatia, Italy, Greece, Hungary, Austria and Lithuania.

July out of the ordinary

According to data from the Copernicus Service, the European Union's earth observation program, July was the hottest month on record. These temperatures were associated with heat waves in large parts of North America, Asia and Europe. Forest fires, such as those in Canada and Greece, had a major impact on people's health, the environment and economies.

High temperatures ahead

Over the weekend, maximum temperatures could reach 40°C in some regions of southern France, according to Météo-France. This situation is due to a strong anticyclone and warm subtropical air from North Africa. Météo-Suisse has issued level 3 orange alerts for most of the country (from Saturday in the case of Geneva), with maximum daytime temperatures between 33 and 35 degrees and high night-time temperatures. According to Alvaro Silva, climatology expert at the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), "this is normal and comes as no surprise". He added that "the frequency and intensity of many extreme events, such as heat waves and heavy precipitation, have increased over recent decades. It's a safe bet that human-induced climate change due to greenhouse gas emissions is the main driver".

Fires

Spain, including the Canary Islands, and Portugal were clearly experiencing extreme heat. On August 17, the Tenerife fire remained out of control, with more than 2,600 hectares burnt and people evacuated. Dry conditions, maximum temperatures in excess of 30°C, night-time temperatures above 20°C and wind gusts in excess of 50 km/h were observed on August 16 and 17 by weather stations in Tenerife.

Other regions affected

Some parts of the Middle East are expected to experience temperatures in excess of 50°C. Japan also experienced a prolonged heat wave, with many records broken.

North America

Canada's record forest fire season continues. As of August 17, more than 600 fires were out of control across the country. Heat alerts in western Canada and warnings, or findings, of poor air quality due to smoke were issued in several regions.

In the United States, the National Weather Service reports that intense heat has settled over the Plains and will extend over much of central and southeastern parts of the country until early next week. Temperatures in excess of 38°C are expected in many areas, and numerous records are likely to be broken.

Hurricane Hilary

Hurricane Hilary, which was moving off the coast of Mexico, has intensified to become a major Category 4 phenomenon, according to the US National Hurricane Center, the specialized weather center of the WMO. Heavy rainfall associated with Hilary is expected to hit California from Sunday evening local time. It will be the first tropical storm to hit this region since 1939. Rainfall of 5 to 10 centimeters will be possible over parts of southern California and Nevada. Three tropical systems are currently evolving in the Pacific: Greg, Fernanda and Cyclone Hilary.

4 C
Genève
vendredi, février 23, 2024

2023 : Eté de tous les extrêmes

L’été des températures extrêmes se poursuit. Après un juillet le plus chaud jamais enregistré, les conditions météorologiques à fort impact se poursuivent durant ce mois d’août. Des alertes de chaleur modérée et sévère pour les prochains jours ont été émises par plusieurs services météorologiques et hydrologiques nationaux en Europe, notamment en France, en Suisse, en Allemagne, en Pologne, en Croatie, en Italie, en Grèce, en Hongrie, en Autriche et en Lituanie.

Juillet hors normes

Selon les données du Service Copernicus, programme d’observation de la terre de l’Union Européenne, le mois de juillet a été les plus chaud jamais enregistré. Ces températures ont été associées à des vagues de chaleur dans de grandes parties de l’Amérique du Nord, de l’Asie et de l’Europe. Les incendies de forêt comme ceux du Canada et de la Grèce, ont entraîné des répercussions majeures sur la santé des populations, l’environnement et les économies.

Températures élevées à venir

Au cours du week-end, les températures maximales pourraient atteindre 40 °C dans certaines régions du sud de la France, selon Météo-France. Cette situation est due à un fort anticyclone et à de l’air chaud subtropical en provenance d’Afrique du Nord. Météo-Suisse a émis des alertes orange de niveau 3 pour la majeure partie du pays (à partir de samedi dans le cas de Genève), avec des températures maximales diurnes comprises entre 33 et 35 degrés et des températures nocturnes élevées. D’après Alvaro Silva, expert en climatologie à l’Organisation Météorologique Mondiale (OMM), « c’est normal et ce n’est pas une surprise ». Il a ajouté que « la fréquence et l’intensité de nombreux phénomènes extrêmes, tels que les vagues de chaleur et les fortes précipitations, ont augmenté au cours des dernières décennies. Il y a fort à parier que le changement climatique induit par l’homme et dû aux émissions de gaz à effet de serre en est le principal moteur ».

Incendies

L’Espagne, y compris les îles Canaries, et le Portugal ont manifestement connu des chaleurs extrêmes. Le 17 août, l’incendie de Ténérife restait incontrôlable, avec plus de 2.600 hectares brûlés et des personnes évacuées. Des conditions sèches, des températures maximales supérieures à 30°C, des températures nocturnes au-dessus de 20°C, des rafales de vent à plus de 50 km/h ont été observées les 16 et 17 août par des stations météorologiques de Tenerife.

Autres régions touchées

Certaines régions du Moyen-Orient devraient connaître des températures supérieures à 50°C. Le Japon a également connu une vague de chaleur prolongée, et de nombreux records ont été battus.

Amérique du Nord

Au Canada, la saison record des feux de forêt se poursuit. Au 17 août, plus de 600 incendies étaient hors de contrôle sur l’ensemble du territoire. Des alertes de chaleur dans l’ouest du pays et des avertissements, ou des constatations, de mauvaise qualité de l’air en raison de la fumée ont été émis dans plusieurs régions.

Aux États-Unis, le Service Météorologique National indique qu’une chaleur intense est installée dans les Plaines et qu’elle va s’étendre sur une grande partie du centre et du sud-est du pays jusqu’au début de la semaine prochaine. Des températures supérieures à 38 °C sont prévues dans plusieurs régions et de nombreux records devraient être battus.

Ouragan Hilary

L’ouragan Hilary qui évoluait aux larges des côtes mexicaines, s’est intensifié pour devenir un phénomène majeur de catégorie 4, selon le National Hurricane Center des États-Unis, centre météorologique spécialisé de l’OMM. Les fortes précipitations associées à Hilary devraient toucher la Californie à partir de dimanche soir, heure locale. Ce sera la première tempête tropicale à toucher cette région depuis 1939. Des précipitations de 5 à 10 centimètres seront possibles sur certaines parties du sud de la Californie et du Nevada. Trois systèmes tropicaux évoluent actuellement dans le Pacifique, Greg, Fernanda et le cyclone Hilary.